Arriving In Northrend

Posted: December 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

Two and a Half Weeks Late to the Party

I didn’t pre-order, I didn’t wait in lines and I didn’t QQ with the rest of player base on launch night when the servers were flooded. Two-and-a-half weeks late, I went to Gamestop and bought my copy. The delay was probably a symptom of my earlier burnout.

I logged in and found my Shaman sitting in Orgrimmar. Not realizing I could have taken a zeppelin from Orgrimmar to the Borean Tundra, I crossed continents to the Eastern Kingdoms and hopped abord the zepellin from Undercity to the Howling Fjord.

The Howling Fjord

The zeppelin docks at a complex tower, multiple flights of stairs zig-zagging down the length of the structure. Because mounted Taurens and tight spaces don’t mix, I insta-casted Ghost Wolf and ran down the stairs, getting my first look at Vengeance Landing.

Vengeance Landing, Howling Fjord

Vengeance Landing, Howling Fjord

All brooding structures, dark brick and stained-glass windows, Vengeance Landing is the southern-most outpost of the Undead in Northrend.

Vengeance Landing, Howling Fjord

Vengeance Landing, Howling Fjord

Close-up of the inn.

Close-up of the inn.

A Tauren (foreground) and Paladin (background) in Vengeance Landing.

A Tauren (foreground) and Paladin (background) in Vengeance Landing.

Riding a bat through the Howling Fjord, you can see the height of the steep cliff-face that separates the shoreline from the rest of the fjord.

wowscrnshot_120608_234154

The Howling Fjord is filled with interesting sub-zones. Here, my Shaman sits atop his Black War Raptor in the Ember Clutch, as a Druid (right) runs from Proto-Drakes that infest the burning forest.

The Ember Clutch

The Ember Clutch

Crossing a bridge in the southern Fjord:

Southern Howling Fjord

Southern Howling Fjord

Don’t look down!

The view from the bridge.

The view from the bridge.

Northern Lights are visible throughout the sky in the Fjord:

Northern Lights

Northern Lights

In a quest for the Taunka, a Tauren-like clan native to Northrend, a vision quest on a mountaintop goes wrong when evil spirits channel a ghost version of my Shaman. A human looks on as my doppleganger prepares to attack me.

Doppleganger

Doppleganger

In my first dungeon run with a Death Knight tank, our group prepares to face the last boss of Utgarde Keep, Howling Fjord’s entry-level dungeon.

Utgarde Keep

Utgarde Keep

Leave a Reply

